How Spiritual Is Spiritual? The Spirit, Manifestation and Focus

  • ….what does “spiritual” mean, anyways?

    What is the meaning and purpose of life? To be honest, I have been a little bothered by that concept, lately. When I first started on what I understand as a “spiritual pathway”, I thought that the more spiritual that I became, the more that my physical life was going to be easier. I had this idea that I would feel calmer, centered, expanded, peaceful, blissful and loved. That was the general concept that meant that I was spiritual. Also, I had every expectation that that would translate into having a lot of money and a comfortable life, doing whatever it was that I loved for a living.

    My expectation was also that once I was “spiritual”, I would be in perfect health….and if I was totally honest, I also expected a few super powers….mostly psychic ones. (Ahem.)

    Looking at the metaphysical community, the vampire community, the pagan community….I can see that there is more of an emphasis on “powers” and “abilities” than there is on being “spiritual”. There is more talk on technical techniques in magick, psychic talents and various other metaphysical phenomena….even what passes as communion with angels/gods/demons is really just making thoughtforms. Most of our communion with non-physical beings is really just interacting with astral servitors in the shape and form of Athena, Beelzebub, Michael and Lucifer.

    Is it even important to be Spiritual? To be honest, I’m not really sure where I exactly got the idea. Was it from eastern yogic philosophy or new thought? And why should I be Spiritual? What does it even mean?

     

    When I was younger, I think that I had the idea that I was supposed to do what “God” wanted….that was what being spiritual meant. In exchange for following all of the rules and regulations, I would be rewarded with getting blessed in the physical world. When my prayers weren’t answered with physical manifestation, I was still assured that there would be my riches in heaven.  A trust fund that I could dip into, once I was dead.

     

    As my religious symbology and personal mythology changed, I think I adapted some of the earlier concepts.  Somewhere, I think my brain translated that into physical blessings being the demonstration for being spiritual. The only way that I could really gauge that I was making spiritual progress was if my magick created real-world changes.

    As I studied further, I came to realize that obstacles to manifestation (of experience) were in the form of thoughts and emotions/feelings. The same things that manifested as personality limitations were what affected how smoothly magick worked. Also, communion with Spirit relied on how easily we could leave behind the thoughts and feelings of the everyday world.

     

    When I began to commune with The Great Mother, being spiritual meant being entirely aware and focused on The Spirit, Herself. Being spiritual means the pure experience of the essence of Spirit….unconditional Love, unbridled Joy, unending Peace. It is an experience that has nothing to do with the physical, mental or emotional world.

    The reason we have no lasting happiness in the world is because the world and everything in it does not represent completeness.  Limitation is necessary for manifestation.  That is the nature of the physical world.

    Any physical form, thought or feeling is not the entirety of the Universe. Happiness is only happiness. It has no form other than itself. We can add Joy to everyday life. We can bring Joy to the table. We can remember to be aware of Joy, but we cannot find it hiding in the everyday world…..Joy has no form. Joy is Joy. That’s it.  We add it to the world.  Our mistake is in assuming that we have to unveil it already hidden in forms or experiences.

    The wonderful thing about magick and manifestation is that they can be great tools for reminding us of Spirit.  Spells let us play with the world of form, to make it easier to remember the Divine.  Magick is not spiritual, in and of itself….but, it helps us take pressure off of our thought/feelings/energy, so that we can refocus on Spirit.

    To be Spiritual is to be aware of that Wholeness before/beyond form or physical-world experience.  It is the option of being aware of that state.  I am not spiritual because I am trying to please any deity outside of myself.  I am spiritual because it feels like a natural place to be.

    dscf348612

Leave a Reply

